2-Board News

New Members, Officers Elected to CIC Board of Directors

Incoming Chair of the CIC Board of Directors Georgia Nugent, president of Kenyon College (OH), accepts the gavel from outgoing Chair George Martin, president of St. Edward’s University (TX), during the Presidents Institute Awards Banquet on Friday, January 6. Nugent will serve as Chair until January 2014.

During the CIC Board of Directors meeting at the 2012 Presidents Institute seven new members were elected to the Board. They will serve a term of one, two, or three years beginning in 2012. In addition, seven Board members were appointed to the Executive Committee.
Aretz.jpgTony Aretz was appointed president of the College of Mount St. Joseph (OH) in 2008 after serving as the academic vice president of Christian Brothers University (TN) and earlier as a faculty member at the United States Air Force Academy for 17 years. Aretz began his academic career after retiring as a Lieutenant Colonel in the U.S. Air Force, where he served for 28 years. He received a PhD in engineering psychology from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and an MA in applied behavioral science in human factors from Wright State University. He received his BA from the Air Force Academy. Aretz has directed the formation and initiation of a three-year strategic plan at the College of Mount St. Joseph; the plan includes the launch of a new Ethical Leadership Development Initiative.
Bahls.jpgSteven C. Bahls is the eighth president of Augustana College (IL). He joined the college in summer 2003 and was installed as president in October of that year. Prior to his appointment at Augustana College, he served as dean of Capital University Law School and as associate dean and professor at the University of Montana School of Law. Licensed as both a CPA and a lawyer, Bahls practiced corporate law with the Milwaukee law firm of Frisch, Dudek & Slattery. He holds a JD from the Northwestern University School of Law and a BA from the University of Iowa. A recognized scholar in business law and agricultural law, Bahls has written hundreds of articles in publications such as Entrepreneur, Independent Banker, and Nation’s Business.
Hass.jpgMarjorie Hass became the 15th president of Austin College (TX) in 2009. Prior to her presidency at Austin College, she served as chief academic officer and provost of Muhlenberg College in Allentown, Pennsylvania. Hass began her career at Muhlenberg in 1993 as a member of the philosophy department and also served as director of Muhlenberg’s Center for Ethics, where she was responsible for programming and integration of the center’s program into the curriculum. Hass earned her BA, MA, and PhD degrees in philosophy at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She is a member of the board of Independent Colleges and Universities of Texas and chaired the CIC/New York Times Presidents Council meeting in October 2010. She currently chairs the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Board of Directors.
Hellie.jpgThomas L. Hellie was named the 19th president of Linfield College (OR) in 2006 after spending six years as president and executive director of the James S. Kemper Foundation in Chicago, Illinois. Hellie has spent his entire career in higher education. He was a tenured faculty member in theatre and English at Hiram College (OH) before holding positions as program officer and then as vice president of the Associated Colleges of the Midwest. Hellie earned his BA from Luther College (IA) and an MA and PhD in theatre history from the University of Missouri-Columbia. He previously served as a trustee of Lenoir-Rhyne University (NC) and as a trustee of the U.S. Business School in Prague, Czech Republic. In 1996, Palacky University (Czech Republic) awarded him its highest honor, the Pamětní Medal, for his contributions to Czech higher education.
Perkins.jpgMichele Perkins was appointed president of New England College (NH) in 2007. She began her service to the college in fall 2001 as vice president for enrollment and became senior vice president two years later. Perkins also teaches in the master’s program in higher education administration. Previously, she taught speech and drama at Emerson College (MA) and Curry College (MA). She also has held positions in admissions and enrollment management at White Pines College, New York Law School, and Trinity College. As a consultant, she has worked with colleges and universities across the country on a wide range of projects focused on recruitment, retention, and strategic planning. Perkins earned her EdD in higher education management from the University of Pennsylvania. She holds an MA in communication studies from Emerson College and a BSS from Northwestern University.
Phipps.jpgKim S. Phipps was named the eighth president of Messiah College (PA) in December 2004, the first woman president in the college’s history. Prior to her appointment as president, Phipps served as Messiah’s interim president, provost, and academic dean. She has authored numerous publications on topics related to community and higher education. Phipps holds a BA from Kentucky Christian College, an MA in speech communication from Morehead State University, and a PhD in communication studies from Kent State University. She serves on several local, regional, and national boards.
Summerlin.jpgTim Summerlin became president of Schreiner University (TX) in 2001 after serving as provost and vice president for academic affairs since 1999. Prior to his time at Schreiner, he was acting provost and dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga. Summerlin has 38 years of experience in higher education, serving two decades as a faculty member teaching courses in English composition, literature surveys, and graduate courses in American literature, literary criticism, and the Bible as literature. He serves on educational boards and committees in two states, as well as in professional organizations and various local boards promoting education, commerce, the arts, science, and community welfare. Summerlin earned his BA from Abilene Christian University and his MA and PhD in English from Yale University.

CIC Executive Committee (2012-2014)

The following officers were elected to CIC’s Executive Committee, with terms ending in January 2014.

​S. Georgia Nugent, Chair
President, Kenyon College (OH)

Christopher W. Kimball, Vice Chair for Programs
President, California Lutheran University (CA)

Kathleen Owens, Secretary and Vice Chair for Membership
President, Gwynedd-Mercy College (PA)

Norval C. Kneten, Treasurer
President, Barton College (NC)

Nancy Oliver Gray, Vice Chair for Resource Development
President, Hollins University (VA)
​William L. Fox, Vice Chair for Public Information
President, St. Lawrence University (NY)

Kurt Kuehn, Vice Chair for Investment
Chief Financial Officer, UPS (GA)

George Martin, Immediate Past Chair
President, St. Edward’s University (TX)

Richard Ekman, Ex Officio
President, Council of Independent Colleges (DC)

Copyright © 2011–2016 Council of Independent Colleges